18° Clouds
2 km/h Wind Speed
Cistercian Route

Must See

  • Cistercian Route
  • Cistercian Route
  • Cistercian Route
Must See Cistercian Route

Costa Daurada’s interior is home to a fascinating mystical and religious legacy. The Cistercian Route links three monasteries (Poblet, Santes Creus and Vallbona de les Monges), a set of architectural, historical and cultural monuments of great interest from Catalonia’s illustrious medieval past, dating back to the 12th century.

Administrative buildings, hospitals, chapels, craft workshops and farms were built in these three spaces. 

The Poblet monastery, declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1991, still preserves all its monastic activity since religious life is still present. The Poblet Monastery was the neurological centre of the Crown of Aragon since several kings are buried there. Poblet still has a community of monks who care for the grounds.

Monastery of Santes Creus was declared a National Historic-Artistic Monument in 1951.

The route ends in Vallbona de les Monges (province of Lleida). The monastery joined the Cistercian Order in 1176 and was for women, hosting a continuous community for over 800 years.

A contemplative look at history with guided tours, special events and classical music concerts, all wrapped in the spiritual aura of a territory rich in gastronomy, culture, crafts, nature and the best local traditions.

Address Poblet monastery: 43448 Poblet, Tarragona // Santes Creus monastery: Plaça de Jaume el Just, s/n, 43815 Santes Creus, Tarragona // Vallbona de les Monges monastery: Major, s/n, 25268 Vallbona de les Monges, Lleida

Other Places
Port Museum
Port Museum Learn more
Roman Legacy of Tarragona
Roman Legacy of Tarragona Learn more
Wine Tourism
Wine Tourism Learn more
The Ebro delta
The Ebro delta Learn more
PortAventura World
PortAventura World Learn more
Reus, modernism route
Reus, modernism route Learn more
Tarragona Cathedral
Tarragona Cathedral Learn more